little ball of energy

I typically do my longer run on Saturday since it used to be my only day off of school/work for the week.  I’ll still keep up my Saturday ritual since it will work well with training for my upcoming races, but this past weekend I switched up my routine a bit.  I attended my baccalaureate service for Graduation on Saturday morning with my family and then we went out to brunch.  Needless to say, I did not want to wake up early to run the usual distance, so Kinley (my sister) and I did a quick 3 mile run instead.  I was then planning on running on Sunday… but then I wimped out because of the 45mph wind gusts, there’s lovely Wisconsin for ya ;).

Monday it is then!  It was still a little windy, but the sun was shining and the temperature was in the 40’s which is what I am used to.  So I woke up around 7, ate a rice cake with 1T trader joe’s peanut butter and set out for my run at 8.  I’m not quite sure why, but my energy was just not with me.  I ended up running a 10k in pretty good time for myself but I just felt like I was dragging.  I used to run without eating anything before, which is not very effective but I think I still must not be energizing enough.

I definitely could have used some of these energy-filled balls as a pick-up halfway through!  I found this recipe for Chocolate Coconut Dough Balls from The Edible Perspective and changed it up just a bit based off of what I had on hand.  They taste very similar to Larabars, which I love and these were so simple to make!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup ground almonds (I had a pack of pre-ground trader joe’s raw almonds)
  • 12 pitted dates
  • 1T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2T unsweetened shredded coconut

     

       

         

           

             

               

                 

                   

                    1. In a food processor, chop up the dates (make sure you have pitted dates, or otherwise take the pit out before you do this).
                    2. Add in the ground almonds, cocoa powder and shredded coconut.  Mix together until it will form into balls.  I also added about 1T of water to the mix to get the correct consistency (I think because the original recipe called for medjool dates which I did not use).
                    3. Roll into balls (mine made 13) and keep refrigerated.

                    I’ll definitely be bringing these along with me on Saturday’s run to see if they’ll help me keep up my pace (if they’re still around that is, they’re delicious)!

                    5 Comments to “little ball of energy”

                    1. I want one now!! They look so pretty :)

                    2. Yummm!! I need to make these again. Glad you liked them!!

                    3. It resembles an Indian sweet, but the process of making it takes no less than 4 – 6 hours. Thankfully “the energy balls” are much easier to make. I feel it would come out delicious. Will try it next Friday. :-)

                    Leave a Reply

