what i ate wednesday #4

I can’t believe it’s my FOURTH WIAW!  It was a pretty low-key day for me – nothing on the to-do list!  Just wish the weather was nicer + warmer!  One thing the cold and semi-rainy weather made me finally do was to make a Facebook page for my blog!  I’ll put up all my posts from now on there so it’s an easy way to stay updated with my site!

Breakfast

I started out the morning with a cup of Green Tea with a little soymilk.  I had some steel-cut oats + flax with peanut butter, a little granola (recipe to come soon!) and a Gluten Free Banana Power Muffin – yum!  I also had a dish of blueberries – which I would say are my favorite berries.  I love that they finally do not cost a small fortune!  I also may or may not have left the soymilk container out all morning since I moved my breakfast away from the counter for the picture… whoops!

Lunch

Leftovers from last night… definitely a trend from the last few WIAW’s!  Cheezy Lentils (cooked lentils with a vegan cheez sauce from Appetite for Reduction), roasted potatoes + carrots and some greens on the side.  I love roasted veggies this way.  I just washed them and put them on a pan with cooking spray, and roasted in a 350* oven for about an hour – makes the carrots so sweet and tasty!

Afternoon Snack

Grind-Your-Own Peanut Butter (Whole Foods) with a banana and a Gluten Free Banana Power Muffin.  I love this peanut butter – it is definitely unlike any other peanut butter I have had.  It’s super think and tastes almost like peanut butter cookie dough.

I also had a few blue corn tortilla chips + baby carrots later on in the afternoon.

Dinner

This meal idea came from the cookbook Appetite for Reduction.  Sweet Potato and Apple Mash (with a little almond milk, cinnamon and ginger), kale & pinto beans in a spicy tomato sauce.  It was supposed to be a southern meal with black eyed peas instead of the pinto beans and collard greens, but alas, Trader Joe’s didn’t have black eyed peas and we like kale better.

3 Comments to “what i ate wednesday #4”

  1. I’ve never taken advantage of the grind your own nut butter option at WF or fresh market… were you a fan? =)

    Happy WIAW darling!!!! send some of those vegan cheezy lentils my way!

    • The grind your own nut butter definitely takes a little getting used to, but in a good way haha :). The first time I had it I wasn’t much of a fan, it seemed really dry and it was also unsalted which I was not used to. But now, I absolutely love it, it really does remind me of peanut butter cookie dough! So if you’re a nut butter fan, I would definitely recommend trying it out!

      And happy WIAW to you as well, I really do look forward to this day every week!

  2. Wow I love this day!! Whole roasted carrots? PLEASE!! and any nut butter that tastes like cookie dough is a must!
    everything looks so good cheesy lentils? muffins? gosh girl…..

Leave a Reply

