just a touch of sweetness

I think I have said it in just about every post the past few days but weather this week has been AWFUL!  Fog, rain, more fog, thunderstorm, power outage, another thunderstorm, power outage…  Luckily the sun has finally made an appearance today (although not without a few scattered rain showers).  I did find one thing that makes even the darkest and stormiest days a little sweeter.  Although I would not attempt making this if you’re without power… I would imagine it would be quite time consuming ;).

We had some almonds sitting around and are currently out of almond butter, so of course I knew what I had to do.  It took me a few minutes to decide what flavor I wanted to add along with the almonds… I considered the Vanilla Maple + Cinnamon Almond Butter that was oh-so-tasty, but wanted to try something new.  This combination is just the perfect amount of sweetness to add to any day.  Or any AB&J sandwich.

Honey Almond Butter

  • 8 oz raw almonds
  • 1T honey
  • large pinch of salt
  • 2-3T grapeseed oil

1.  Bake the almonds at 325* for 15-18 minutes, stirring about 3-4 times throughout.  Let cool for 5 minutes.

2. Put almonds in a food processer and blend for 6-10 minutes, scraping down the sides as necessary until the almonds start to butterize.

3.  Add in the honey and salt, mix well.  It will most likely turn thick at this point, so add as much oil as necessary (I used 2T).

It really was just that easy!  The flavor is amazing and I am making myself hungry just writing about it!

8 Responses to “just a touch of sweetness”

  1. You’ve reminded me that I too have a big ol’ bag of almonds that need something doing to them. As we love all nut butters Iin my household, really should do as you have and smoodge them up. Thanks for the simple instructions too. I’ve just posted my own quick recipe too.

    • This is a good use for those almonds! We go through way too many nut butters as well – they’re just too good to not eat every day! I’ll have to head over and check out your quick recipe!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

