betty, who?

There are few things I make or bake repeatedly.  I usually like to shake things up to try out new recipes and ideas.  There are only a handful of recipes I would ever repeat, and now with my gluten intolerance rising, I will most likely never be able to make my most beloved recipes again… Well, the exact recipes I initially fell in love with anyways.

I remember the recipe for French Breakfast Puffs from Betty Crocker as a often-repeated recipe, going all the way back to childhood.  It’s actually in my mom’s red Betty Crocker cookbook she received for her wedding many years before I even made an appearance.  It was always a favorite, especially the end part where my sister and I got to dunk the tops of the muffins in butter and cinnamon sugar.  I thought it was about time to make this recipe again, and did my best to replicate it while making it gluten free and dairy free.  Perfect for any time of the day.

Gluten Free & Dairy Free French Breakfast Puffs adapted from Betty Crocker
makes 10 muffins 

  • 1/3c unsweetened natural applesauce
  • 2T sucanat (SUcre CAnne NATurel aka sugar cane in its most natural form)
  • 1 egg (or flax egg)
  • 3/4 c millet flour
  • 3/4 c sorghum flour
  • 3/4 t xanthan gum
  • 1 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 1/2 c unsweetened almond milk

1. Mix together the applesauce, sucanat and egg.

2. Sift the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl.

3. Add the dry ingredients into the wet, alternating with the almond milk.

4. Scoop into a sprayed (or lined) muffin pan and bake at 350* for 20-22 minutes.

5. Allow to cool slightly (or completely) before coating.

  • 3T sucanat
  • 1 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 2T earth balance

*The topping measurements can be doubled if you prefer.  It also depends on how much of the muffin you dip and how many muffins your recipe makes.

6. Mix together the sucanat and cinnamon.  Melt the earth balance.

7. Dip each muffin first in the melted earth balance and then in the sucanat and cinnamon mixture.  (It’s easier to remove from the paper wrapping before dipping if you lined your pan).

Kinley says these are even better than the modified recipe we had been making of late which included replacing the shortening with applesauce.  Even though Betty thought she was pretty good in the baking department, I’d like to see her try to make a muffin taste better than this one!  Who needs gluten and dairy anyways?

4 Responses to “betty, who?”

  1. I am very sad we only made a single batch of these :( I think this is one of those recipes we WILL be repeating quite often :D

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

