friday night at the fair

August means one thing in Wisconsin.  The State Fair.  It’s basically a competition of how many foods can be served on a stick, deep fried, and covered in cheese.  Oh, and you’ve got to have a cream puff – it’s a give-in.  Only two problems in that whole scenario – gluten and dairy.  Gluten is a bigger issue for me right now – I have managed to have yogurt a couple times and feel alright after it but I’ll probably just stick with yogurt and not have it too often (the frozen variety as well, but more on that later ;) ).

This is yet another photo-filled post, but I don’t want any of you non-Wisconsinites out there to miss out on this very Midwest celebration of the Dairy State.

This is a barn.  With a milk jug out front.  This is a barn where you can go and get 30597458 different flavors of milk.  Well, that’s obviously a lie but there are way too many flavors and I don’t even want to know the ingredient list or color additives in any of them haha.

Here are some of the wonderful stuffed animals you can win for the low low price of a ton of money per game.  Of course as a child I always fantasized getting a giant Tweety Bird… but my luck was never there.

First food stop of the afternoon – some fresh-cut fries.  So good!  Not the healthiest, but not the worst either, right?

We went into the 4H pavilion where they have all of the homemade crafts 4H-ers make throughout the year and display for the state to see.  I did love these photographs – especially the one of the pepper on the left hand side!

They had a ton of beautiful Dahlias as well as other floral creations.

Vegetable display.  What’s surrounding the veggies you ask?  Beer bottles of course!  How else do you expect us to grow vegetables here?

Fake flower displays.  Only the best :).  I actually loved the balls of flowers tho – they would make a really good centerpiece!

I even broke out my jean jacket for the occasion.  Cream Puff building behind me.

Kinley may or may not have bought a little something at the expo… more on that later as well :).

Last but certainly not least – cinnamon nuts!  Oh so delicious, this was a combo of pecans, almonds and cashews.

I wasn’t actually expecting to go to the fair this year because Kinley, Mom and Dad went last weekend when I was in Sonoma, but we got free tickets and free parking so how could I resist?!  I also got out of work at 2 today – my first summer hours!  It’s a pretty sweet deal, as long as we have (enough) of our work done, we can leave at 2 on Fridays between Memorial Day & Labor Day.  And for the other part of the year we can leave at 3.  Pretty nice!  My first week I was obviously loaded with work to do so I didn’t even think of taking them (plus I only found out about them that day), and then the next week I was traveling and practically working 24/7 ;).  The third week however… it went really well.  I actually feel like I know (kind of) what’s going on and am comfortable making changes and updating things without asking someone how to do it.  It’s a great feeling!  As of right now I don’t feel like I’m over my head with anything, although I get even more jobs and responsibilities next week!  I have been told I will never be bored and I truly believe that.  It’s a good thing I’m loving it so far :).

If you happen to be in the Milwaukee area this weekend – you really should check out the fair.  Just make sure you eat a cream puff and something on a stick… or covered in cheese.  Even though I didn’t.

7 Responses to “friday night at the fair”

  1. Nice discretely hidden item with me in that picture ;) And I think we are going to need to find Cinnamon nuts at the Sheb County fair and/or Disneyworld… too.good.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

