cinnamon + sugar donuts

After feeling not quite right yesterday even until going to bed, I knew today’s food was going to be hit or miss.  Kinley and I decided to drive to Alterra this morning for some Iced Americano’s – I love Alterra and it made this day start out great and I think the caffeine helped perk me up to help me continue to recover!  For breakfast I had scrambled eggs, some sauteed potatoes (leftover from dinner last night) and a piece of Sami’s Millet & Flax toast.  It was just what I wanted!

Well, there seems to be something about me and egg-filled breakfasts.  For some reason I get hungry pretty quickly afterwards even with all of the protein from the eggs and carbs from the potatoes and bread (which is why my usual breakfasts consist primarily of oats or buckwheat!).  It’s a good thing I had found a delicious looking recipe from Multiply Delicious for Cinnamon Sugar Gluten Free Baked Doughnuts to make for a ‘mid-morning snack’ ;).  I have been in the mood for cinnamon sugar recently as well as donuts (thanks to Ashley’s recent gluten-less creations :) ).  I took tips from both recipes and came up with these little guys.

Cinnamon Sugar Donuts makes 6 regular + 6 minis
  • 1/2c unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2t cider vinegar
  • 1 flax egg (1T flax + 2-3T water)
  • 1 egg
  • 2T organic sugar
  • 2t baking soda
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1/2t xanthan gum
  • 1t cinnamon
  • 1/4t nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cups gluten free all purpose flour
  • 1/2 c quinoa flour* (I misread the amount on this so had to add the water to counteract the excess dry ingredients – whoops!)
  • 1/4 c water*
Topping
  • 2-3T melted earth balance
  • 1/4c organic sugar
  • 1t cinnamon
*You could do 1/4c quinoa flour and no water instead.
1. Preheat oven to 350′ and spray a donut pan with non-stick cooking spray.  Spray well!
2. Mix together the almond milk and cider vinegar and set aside.  Mix together the flax and water to make the flax egg and set aside.
3. Combine the sugar, baking soda, salt, xanthan gum, cinnamon and nutmeg in a large bowl.
4. Add the almond milk mixture, the flax mixture and the egg to those dry ingredients and whisk together.
5. Sift in the flours and combine.  Add water and stir to combine.
6. Scoop into the prepared donut pans and bake for 15-20 minutes or until heated through.
7. Once slightly cooled, dip into melted butter and then into the cinnamon sugar.

By the way, is it donuts or doughnuts?

The next time around I will definitely not use Bob’s Gluten Free mix – I am not a fan of garbanzo bean flour and that’s a big component in the mix.  I had it leftover from our first weekend going gluten free when we thought it was a baking necessity.  I’m going to pick up some coconut flour this weekend so the next time a donut craving hits I can use something similar to Ashley’s combo of Coconut, Sweet Rice and Oat flours.  The original recipe also did not call for any eggs, but I knew Ashley’s did and they would help puff up the dough better.  You could easily make these vegan if you wanted – but I was in the mood for a puffy cake-like donut!!!

Love this little ‘donut family’.  Happy Sunday!

4 Comments to “cinnamon + sugar donuts”

  1. Cdub wonders why you have not given him one of his sized ones yet??…

  2. These look fantastic!! I’m not really a fan of garbanzo flour either. I thought I liked it, but got sick of it pretty fast and it also hurts my stomach! haha

    • Yeah I will never voluntarily use it again! I had the last donut today and the taste was just not right after sitting for less than two days… The cinnamon + sugar was good however :).

Leave a Reply

