a new kind of cookie

I have a major sweet tooth.  But I’m sure if you’ve read this blog before you’re aware of that fact ;).  But the strange thing is that when I switched to eating unprocessed foods, my tolerance for sweet things went waaay down.  I used to almost always choose milk chocolate over dark in a Russell Stover box – obviously I needed the higher sugar content.  I have even on more than one occasion (I refuse to count), made this Martha Steward Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe using two – yes, two cups of sugar.  And then proceed to eat the whole batch (well, not by myself obviously) over the course of a weekend.

Now, I am more likely to eat dark chocolate than even semi-sweet, and never milk chocolate.  Sugar in baked goods has gone down (or become non-existant) in all of my recipes.  Oh, and my love for coconut has increased significantly.  I used to think unsweetened coconut was, well, unsweet.  Now?  Oh my, it’s absolutely delectable.  Coconut flakes are pop in your  mouth good and coconut butter tastes like frosting.  Last night, Kinley and I purchased Coconut Flour for the first time.  Now combining all of my previous ramblings into one recipe?  Don’t mind if I do.

Gluten Free Coconut Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies makes 2 dozen

  • 3/4c sorghum flour
  • 1/4c + 2T coconut flour (Let’s Do… Organic®)
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1 stick earth balance (or butter)
  • 1/4c organic natural sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2t vanilla
  • 1c semisweet or dark chocolate chips (I used Guittard – made in a gluten free facility!)
1. In a small bowl, mix together the sorghum flour, coconut flour and baking soda.
2. In a large bowl, combine room-temperature earth balance and sugar with a handmixer until fluffy and smooth.
3. Mix in the egg and vanilla until combined.
4. Add the flour mixture and mix.  One of the best things about gluten free flours is that there is no chance of you over-mixing!
5. Time for the chocolate chips – so, so good.  Put them in and mix.
6. Scoop and roll (these won’t change much during cooking so what you put in will look pretty much like what comes out) and place these on a baking sheet and put in a 375′ oven for 8-10 minutes.
These cookies are a nice change from the Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies I have baked recently since they used oat flour as the base (as did the Wheat Free Chocolate Chip Cookies).
I do kind of love how the non-rolled ones look like coconut macaroons.  I have big ideas for the not-so pretty and semi-crumbly ones but I’ve got to talk the sister into going along with it ;).
10 Comments to “a new kind of cookie”

  1. my gosh, these cookies look amazing! thanks a bunch for sharing :)

  2. You don’t have to talk me into it but my sugar tolerance is even less than yours so no promises on whether I can eat these little concoctions you are coming up with :) Bahaha – or at least more than one of them :) Tonight maybe?? Now, let’s go shopping!

  3. Well they look absolutely fantastic. Lovely. Thanks a lot for sharing. Love the blog.

  4. These look delicious! Can’t wait to try, especially because everything I’ve tried with my coconut flour has been such an epic fail so far! Love your blog, by the way! Nice to find a fellow yoga-lover :)

    • I was expecting to use more coconut flour than this but figured it would be good to not over-do it and I think that definitely helped! Just enough to give it a great flavor but not make it too crumbly. And thank you, stop by any time!

  5. I agree–my sweet tooth has completely changed since my diet became more plant-based and less processed. It’s definitely not gone, but I don’t like overly sweet things at all and I love dark chocolate. these cookies are adorable and look so yummy. I love the addition of coconut flour. mmmm :)

    • The coconut flour smells so good too – probably why they didn’t need to much sugar and are still sweet! And I don’t think my sweet tooth will ever go away unfortunately!

Leave a Reply

