Archive for August 26th, 2011

August 26, 2011

out and about in mke: thai-namite thai bistro and sushi bar

I love ethnic food, especially asian cuisines.  I am not really very adventurous when I go to restaurants – mainly sticking with my favorites, but it never gets old!  In fact, when my parents uprooted me in my middle-school years to a new town, one thing that consoled me was the fact that there were 13 Chinese buffets in one county.  Thank you, Wisconsin.

My first experience with Thai food, however, was in London.  I went to a little shop called Monkey and Me and I had the most delicious meal there ever – and proceeded to go back many, many times.  I had both their noodle dishes as well as their regular entrees served with coconut rice – which is the best rice product out there.  But that has nothing to do with Thai-namite since they do not have coconut rice…  Anyways, we grabbed dinner there a few weeks back and it was absolutely delicious and gluten free friendly.  We even brought up our concerns with the waitress and she came back with a menu that she had highlighted all of the gluten free dishes (she had been bored one shift and went through ALL of their ingredients to make this master menu!).

I had actually just gotten home from my weekend in Sonoma and was in the mood for a nice, hot meal.  Although I started out cold with an appetizer: Fresh Rolls.  Fresh rice wrap sheet with stuffed tofu, fried egg, rice noodle, and carrot served with chef special sauce (substituted for plum sauce that was gluten free) and ground peanut.  Loved these!

For my entree I went for the good ol’ Classic (Veggie) Fried Rice.  Tasty rice stir fried with egg, white onion, green onion, and tomato.  I contemplated the Hawaiian Fried Rice, but stuck with typical flavors instead.  This was so good and I ate every last bite!

I even had two of Kinley’s maki.  One Kappa (cucumber) and an Avocado.  These are not necessarily gluten free because of the vinegar they use in the sticky rice?  I had never heard this before but Kinley decided to risk it.

All of our meals were incredible.  Mom and Dad ate with us as well but I didn’t get pictures of their food and I have no clue what they got!  A chicken dish for sure with jasmine rice – they both said it was really good but I didn’t have a bite, but it seems like they do a really good job with all of their food and the wait staff is definitely knowledgable about gluten free dining – a real plus when eating out at a new place!  If you’re looking for some delicious Thai food in Milwaukee, you should definitely check out Thai-Namite Thai Bistro and Sushi Bar!

Thai-Namite Thai Bistro and Sushi Bar on Urbanspoon

Thai-namite Menu
Front
Back